MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CABINET HELD ON 17 MAY 2005

Present:

Cabinet Members:

Councillors Alan Farnell (Chair) (Policy & Governance)

John Burton (Schools)

Alan Cockburn (Corporate Services)

Peter Fowler (Family Services)

Colin Hayfield (Adult & Community Services)
Martin Heatley (Environmental Services)
Richard Hobbs (Community Safety)
Chris Saint (Economic Development)
Izzi Seccombe (Children's Services)
Bob Stevens (Performance Management)

Other Councillors in attendance:

Councillors John Appleton, George Atkinson, Sarah Boad, David Booth, Ken Browne, Les Caborn, Richard Chattaway, Gordon Collett, Jose Compton, Chris Davis, Jill Dill-Russell, Michael Doody, Anne Forwood, Eithne Goode, Richard Grant, John Haynes, Marion Haywood, Pat Henry, Bob Hicks, Richard Hyde, Mick Jones, Katherine King, Bernard Kirton, Nina Knapman, Joan Lea, Bryan Levy, Barry Longden, Anita Macaulay, Frank McCarney, Helen McCarthy, Phillip Morris-Jones, Brian Moss, Tim Naylor, Mike Perry, Jerry Roodhouse, John Ross, Dave Shilton, Kam Singh, Mota Singh, Ian Smith, Mick Stanley, Ray Sweet, Heather Timms, Sid Tooth, John Vereker, CBE, John Wells and John Whitehouse.

1. Member's Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests

There were no disclosures.

2. Appointment to Bodies and Delegation of Powers

The Cabinet considered a report of the County Solicitor and Assistant Chief Executive.

Resolved:

(1) That the Cabinet appoints to the following bodies:

Adoption Panel

Councillors Peter Fowler, Anne Forwood and Dave Shilton.

Joint Negotiating Body (Staff)

Councillors Alan Cockburn and Bob Stevens. (Councillors David Booth and Frank McCarney were also appointed to this body by Regulatory Committee on 17 May 2005).

Joint Negotiating Body (Teaching Staff)

Councillors John Burton and Peter Fowler (Councillors Richard Grant and John Whitehouse were also appointed to this body by Regulatory Committee on 17 May 2005).

Eastern Shires Purchasing Organisation (ESPO) Councillors Alan Cockburn, Tim Naylor and John Whitehouse. Bonus Sub-Committee Councillor Alan Cockburn. Accommodation Sub- Committee Councillor Alan Cockburn. (2) That the Cabinet confirms the delegations of executive functions, made by the Cabinet of the previous Council, to Area Committees and to officers. There was no other business and the meeting rose at 11.11am.